Monday, May 01, 2006

ABC Meme

I cheekily stole this one from Mrs Coulter at The Republic of Heaven. Feel free to play or not...

Accent: I retain the Gloucestershire accent of my childhood and youth.

Booze: Haven't had an alcoholic drink for 6 years now (and I've never been much of a drinker anyway), but I do like Southern Comfort and Coke.

Chore I Hate: Cleaning - dusting or hoovering...

Dog or Cat: Cat - my cat is gorgeous (and a grandchild substitute to my parents!)

Essential Electronics: PC - I have a lot of "virtual" friends (and some real ones I've met via the Net) so I wouldn't be without mine.

Favourite Perfume: Can't abide it! I especially dislike it when someone smells as if they've tipped half a bottle over themselves. *Ugh* !

Gold or Silver: Silver always.

Hometown: I've got two - Oxford and Stroud (the nearest town to the village where I grew up - see accent.)

Insomnia: I am currently suffering my typical British Summer Time issue of waking up far too early. I'm an early riser anyway, but waking at 4.30 am or before is insane and unpleasant !

Job Title: Hmm. Paying job: editor (for a non-publishing firm); non paying job: Writer The latter's on my contact cards.

Kids: None !

Living arrangements: There's just me in this tiny attic !

Most admirable traits: intelligent, very observant, empathic

Number of sexual partners: None thanks. (I prefer to channel all my energies into my writing !)

Overnight hospital stays: Two too many for my liking ! Tonsillectomy when I was in my 20s; op. to fix a recurrent dislocating shoulder (also in my 20s)

Phobias: Heights - although I'm a lot better about them than I was as a child ! Also fire - again, I'm better than I was - I'm not too scared to light candles these days !

Quote: One of my current favourites is: "If a nation loses its storytellers, it loses its childhood." - Peter Handke

Religion: None. I had a period of intense religiosity from 16 - 22 but it didn't survive my student days in Oxford.

Siblings: Two - one of each, both younger.

Time I wake up: Normally 4.50 am (currently any time after 4 am !)

Unusual talent or skill: I automatically proof-read anything I read.

Vegetable I love: The humble pea ! (Also brocolli, carrots, potatoes)

Worst habit: A tendency to expect the worst.

X-rays: Too many - on the recurrent dislocating shoulder, on teeth, on knees...

Yummy foods I make: If we're talking cooking from scratch, I don't !

Zodiac sign: Scorpio - You have to watch out for the sting in the tail (allegedly !)


Kelly said...

Hi Michele! I'll play in the comments with this one :)

Accent: California with Midwest undertones
Booze: Red Wine
Chore I hate: Unloading the dishwasher
Dog or Cat: Cats, of course! I've a 16-year-old lady and a 4-year-old dimwit of a boy (love him anyway, but he's really not very sharp)
Essential Electronics: Laptop and my "listening device" (a mp3 player used for listening to books)
Favorite Perfume: No. Never.
Gold or Silver: Silver, bien sur.
Hometown: Hemet, CA
Insomnia: I can fall asleep standing up, so, no.
Job Title: Associate Professor of Russian. In my heart, writer (though I don't dislike my day job at all. I like to teach very much.)
Kids: Two (plus the dimwit cat)
Living Arrangement: 3 bedroom, falling-apart duplex.
Most admirable traits: optimist, intelligent, never give up
Number of sexual partners: No comment :)
Overnight Hospital Stays: Twice, once for each child. My greatest fear, actually.
Phobias: Hospitals, heights, rodents, flying
Quote: quotes are like jokes...I never remember the second half
Religion: Atheist
Siblings: Two younger sisters
Time I wake up: Naturally, 8am. Usually, alarm clock at 6am.
Unusual Talent or Skill: Fluent in Russian
Vegetable I Love: Arugula, zucchini
Worst Habit: Complainer, sometimes for no good reason
X-rays: teeth, feet (stress fractures)
Yummy food I make: Hmmm...not much of a cook. I love to eat, though.
Zodiac Sign: Aries

Michele said...

Thanks Kelly ! Interesting how many of my friends have "special needs" cats ! *g* My cat Shade is as sharp as a knife and crafty with it (but there's no malice in her)...

Anonymous said...

Michele, I'm using the comments to chime in , too.

Accent: Southern U.S. + a twinge of New York

Booze: Chardonnay

Chore I Hate: Unloading the dishwasher

Dog or Cat: Cat. Riley. Big orange tabby and a sweetheart of a fellow.

Essential Electronics: Computer. Clock radio (or I'd never wake up).

Favourite Perfume: Vetiver

Gold or Silver: Both.

Hometown: Westport CT nowadays.

Insomnia: Not lately.

Job Title: Mom/writer/editor

Kids: 1

Living arrangements: Three of us and the kitty in a house.

Most admirable traits: Aw, shucks.

Number of sexual partners: Ahem.

Overnight hospital stays: Tonsillectomy when I was little.

Phobias: Heights. Sharp power tools.

Quote: Go big or stay home.

Religion: I've had a couple, currently Unitarian Universalist.

Siblings: 0

Time I wake up: 6:30

Unusual talent or skill: Spotting shoplifters.

Vegetable I love: Asparagus.

Worst habit: Procrastination.

X-rays: A few. I fell out of a couple of trees. Last year. Ha. No, when I was a kid.

Yummy foods I make: Chicken spaghetti!

Zodiac sign: Pisces.

Michele said...

I confess, Susan, I love my DAB Digital radio ! Thanks for your comments.